Back to top

New regional economic development function established

The Lower Columbia Community Development Team has established the Lower Columbia Initiatives Corporation (LCI). The goals of the LCI include attracting and supporting new businesses, building on existing assets and knowledge and supporting development projects.
“ I’m quite pleased with the progress that the LCCDT has made over the last year, “ said Kevin Jolly, Chair, Lower Columbia Community Development Team. “ The development of Lower Columbia Initiatives has been one of our key objectives and they will play a critical role going forward in the economic development of our region. The cooperation amongst the municipalities
on this initiative has been great. Working together, we have assembled a very strong team with the LCI Board and I expect they will deliver on the mandate they have been given.”
The establishment of the LCI had the unanimous support of local government, including the Cities of Trail and Rossland, the Villages of Warfield, Fruitvale and Montrose and Regional District Areas A and B.
“We are very excited about the opportunities that LCI will be able to bring to the Lower Columbia,” said Greg Belland, Chair, Lower Columbia Initiatives. “The area has tremendous potential and a dedicated economic development staff will be able to provide the support necessary to get started on a number of projects.”
Funding for the LCI will be provided by the Regional District of Kootenay Boundary and administered by the Lower Columbia Community Development Team, the entity to which the LCI will report. The corporation’s staff will consist of an economic development officer, grant writer and part-time administrative assistant. Staffing levels may be enhanced as additional funding is developed and project activities increase. The LCI has leased space in the Community Futures Building in Trail.
The inaugural meeting of the LCI Board of Directors was held on January 27, 2010. The following is a list of Officers and Directors: Greg Belland, Chair; Sandi MacArthur, Vice Chair; Peter Pistner, Treasurer; Jeanne Kim, Secretary; Dan Ashman; Bob Reardon; Don Thompson; Scott Weatherford; Dieter Bogs; Greg Granstrom; and, Larry Gray. The Board’s immediate action plan is to focus on start-up activities, including set-up of the office and recruiting staff.