Surprise, surprise; B.C. Lions complete Cinderella season by knocking off Winnipeg 34-23 to capture 2011 Grey Cup

The Nelson Daily Sports
By The Nelson Daily Sports
November 28th, 2011

Those fans who tossed the B.C. Lions onto the scrap pile back in July are going get a huge surprise waking up Monday morning after reading the morning website.

Because surprise, surprise, the B.C. Lions are 2011 Grey Cup Champions.

The Canadian Football League’s Most Outstanding Player, Travis Lulay, tossed consecutive second half touchdown passes to Kierrie Johnson and Arland Bruce sparking the Lions to a 34-23 victory over the Winnipeg Blue Bombers Sunday at B.C. Place in Vancouver.

“It’s a championship game. You’ve got to keep the faith and this feels pretty sweet,” Lulay told TSN following the game after struggling before getting the job done.

Lulay completed 21 of his 37 passes for 320 yards and two scores.

The Lions, winning the sixth championship in franchise history, are the first team in CFL history to start the season with five straight losses and win the Grey Cup.

“I told the guys to stay focused,” said Geroy Simon when asked about the 0-5 start.

B.C. led 10-0 a field goal by Paul McCallum and touchdown by Andrew Harris.

A single point along with a field goal by McCallum increased the lead to 14-0 before Winnipeg kicked two fields goals to make the score 14-6 at the half.

The teams exchanged field goals before Lulay & Company went to work as the B.C. quarterback connected with Kierrie Johnson on a 66-yard TD pass.

In the fourth quarter after Odell Willis muffed on a potential game-changing interception, the Lions engineered a nine-play 82-yard drive that ended in a six-yard TD pass to Arland Bruce.

Winnipeg scored two late touchdowns before McCallum put the game away with a 34-yard field goal.

Lulay revealed after the game he was playing with a bad groin injury suffered during the first quarter. The injury slowed Lulay’s ability to run during the game.

The Lions win tied head coach Wally Buono with Don Matthews and Hugh Campbell with the most Grey Cup wins at five.

B.C. running back Andrew Harris was named the Most Outstanding Canadian in the Grey Cup.

There are four teams in CFL history to win a Grey Cup at home. The Lions have done it twice, also capturing the title in 1994.


This post was syndicated from https://thenelsondaily.com
Categories: Sports


15°C Clear Sky

Other News Stories